Insights from National Program Award Winners 2023

To register for this webinar, please click here.

Each year, the Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT) and the Te Whatu Kairangi Aotearoa Tertiary Educatory Awards recognise teaching excellence.  In this webinar we have brought together winners from 2023 who have developed innovative programs that enhance learning and improve the student experience.

The Cohort Doctoral Studies program at James Cook University provides an ecosystem of support for working health professionals (often part-time, external candidates) to complete their research degrees.

The Toikura teaching unit within Te Pūtahi-a-Toi School of Māori Knowledge at Massey University lead two unique kaupapa Māori immersion Initial Teacher Education programmes : Te Aho Tātairangi and Te Aho Paerewa.

The Bridge of Hope Innocence Initiative program at RMIT provides an opportunity for internship students to work collaboratively with academics and industry to investigate wrongful conviction claims and raise public awareness about errors in the criminal justice system.
Come along and hear a little more about these three programs and the teams that developed them.


Melissa Crowe, Diana Mendez and Meryl Churchill, James Cook University

Huia Tomlins-Jahnke, Mari Ropata-Te Hei, Nadell Karatea-Kokiri, Hona Black, Te Rina (Krystal) Warren, and Rahera Filiata, Massey University
Michele Ruyters, Gregory Stratton, Monique Moffa, Alyssa Sigamoney and Jarryd Bartle, RMIT