CAULLT Conference 2023 – Wicked Problems in Higher Education: provocations for leading in  learning and teaching

To register for the 2023 CAULLT Conference, please click here
To download the program, please click here

Date: Friday 27 October 2023
NSW / VIC / ACT 10am – 4pm AEDT
NT      8:30am – 2:30pm
QLD   9am – 3pm
SA      9:30am – 3:30pm
WA     7am – 1pm
NZ      12 noon – 6pm

All welcome: CAULLT Nominees and their guests, interested participants

Join us online or in person at a conference hub (details below).

The conference is designed around a series of provocations to facilitate discussion and shared insights into the ‘wicked problems’ that face current emerging and aspiring learning and teaching leaders.

The four keynote sessions will be a combination of presentations and panel discussions.


  • Much ado about everything but learning – Associate Professor Jason Lodge (University of Queensland)
  • Pathways to Senior Leadership and Beyond – Prof. Dominique Parrish (Torrens University), Prof. Maryanne Dever (Australian National University), Prof. Michelle Picard (Flinders University) and Prof. Adam Bridgeman (The University of Sydney)
  • The Accord and Equity in Higher Education – Verity Firth (University of Technology, Sydney) and Dr. Matt Brett (Deakin University)
  • The Purpose of Indigenours Participation in Teaching and Learning – Professor Anthony Fraser (University of the Sunshine Coast)


Attend online or in person at a local hub to engage with peers and participate in face-to-face group discussions. Lunch will be provided for attendees at each venue.

To join a conference hub you must register by 12 October.

Your local hub lead will contact you after your registration with details if you choose to attend in person.

  • Adelaide – Flinders University – Michelle Picard
  • Brisbane – Central Queensland University – Nadine Adams
  • Darwin – Charles Darwin University – Michael Sankey
  • Dunedin, New Zealand – University of Otago – Ben Daniel
  • Hobart  – University of Tasmania – Andrea Adams
  • Melbourne  – Deakin University – Barbie Panther
  • Perth – Murdoch University – Shannon Johnston
  • Sydney – University of Technology, Sydney – Jan McLean