Executive Committee

The role of the Executive is to act for CAULLT in all respects except in those matters which are required by the Constitution to be determined by the members of CAULLT. The responsibilities of the Executive include: arranging and conducting meetings; developing and reviewing strategic directions; establishing and monitoring working parties to transact CAULLT business; and developing and maintaining effective communication channels between the Executive and members between meetings.


Professor Simon Bedford, Western Sydney University

Professor Simon Bedford  is the Pro Vice-Chancellor Learning Futures at Western Sydney University. He is responsible for the leadership of strategic educational innovation and collaboration to shape the University’s commitment to ensuring its students fulfil their potential to become influential global citizen-scholars in a new technology-enabled world.

Portfolio responsibilities:
  • Evaluation of activities
  • Evaluation of CAULLT strategic and operational planning
  • Effective and collegiate chairing of meetings
  • Policy responses
  • Horizon scanning

Vice President

Associate Professor Barbie Panther, Deakin University

Associate Professor Barbie Panther is the Director, Teaching Capability at Deakin University where she has responsibility for professional development, recognition and reward programs in learning and teaching.  Barbie’s academic background is in chemistry and she is passionate about exploring the possibilities of digital learning, supporting the development of inclusive learning environments, and building capability of those who design, deliver, enable and lead learning and teaching.

Portfolio responsibilities:
  • Recognition of Taxonomy for Credentialing Australasian University Educators (TACUE ) framework
  • CAULLT awards
  • Mentoring for leadership


Dr Andrea Adam, University of Tasmania

Dr Andrea Adam leads the Professional Learning and Recognition Portfolio within the Office of the Executive Director, Academic at UTAS. Her work focuses on enabling the growth of colleagues in higher education, including her peers in academic development.

Portfolio responsibilities:
  • Budget
  • Grant reporting
  • Grant budgets
  • Grant evaluations


Professor Steven Warburton, University of New England

Professor Warburton is Executive Principal Education Futures at the University of New England and a Fellow of the Centre for Distance Education University of London. He is an experienced senior executive with broad international experience having worked in the UK, New Zealand and now Australia. He has led multiple digital transformation projects in Higher Education, across learning, teaching and assessment, academic quality, curriculum management and, academic development. He has published widely in the domain of technology enhanced learning and is a passionate advocate for design thinking approaches and the use of pattern languages in human centred design and problem solving.

Portfolio responsibilities:
  • CAULLT website
  • Branding
  • Social media
  • Visibility at conferences

Committee members

Dr Ruth Greenaway, University of the Sunshine Coast

Dr Ruth Greenaway, PFHEA, is the Director of the Learning and Teaching Academy at the University of the Sunshine Coast. Ruth has 30 years of experience leading and teaching in secondary and higher education and is responsible for the scholarship of learning and teaching at USC. Ruth is passionate about equitable access to education and knowledge and embraces diversity and inclusion with a particular interest in embedding Indigenous knowledges and perspectives into the curriculum. Ruth is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (GAICD).

Portfolio responsibilities:
  • CAULLT Conferences
  • Webinar program
  • Contemporary Approaches to University Teaching (CAUT) MOOC

Prof. Kate Ames, Central Queensland University

Professor Kate Ames, PFHEA, is Director, Learning Design and Innovation at CQUniversity. Kate has an academic background as a cultural sociologist and has been nationally recognised for excellence in leadership and teaching. She leads a unit that develops innovative online courses and academic capability in online and on-campus teaching for higher, vocational, and industry education. Kate also holds the rank of Lieutenant Colonel in the Australian Army (Reserve) where she has a leadership role in public affairs training. She is committed to equity, access, and diversity in education to build student confidence and enable success, with a particular interest in regional and remote students.

Portfolio responsibilities:
  • Partner organisations management
  • Recruitment of institutions
  • Networking with external groups
  • MOUs

Executive Officer

Christa Jacenyik-Trawöger

Portfolio responsibilities:
  • Annual reporting
  • Maintenance of CAULLT website, including resources
  • Organisation and support of CAULLT events, e.g. AGM, webinars  and CAULLT Conference
  • Organisation and support of Executive Committee and Planning meetings
  • Compilation and distribution of CAULLT newsletter
  • General administrative duties, including maintenance of CAULLT email (secretariat@caullt.edu.au)