Awards for University Teaching

Published by on the 6 September 2018

 Universities Australia (UA) is pleased to announce that the 2018 Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT) are back. Swinburne University awards team (led by Professor Angela Carbone) is managing the administration of the AAUT on behalf of Universities Australia.

 This year, all award categories will remain unchanged along with the assessment criteria.

Award Types Categories No. of Awards
1. Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning (Citations)     4 Up to 60
2. Awards for Program that Enhance Learning (Program Awards)     6     6
3. Awards for Teaching Excellence (Teaching Awards)     7     7
4. Award for Australian University Teacher of the Year     1     1

Due to the level of funding made available by Government for the AAUT from 2018 onwards, prizemoney must be reduced.

 Key changes to this year’s Awards are as follows:

  • Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning and Awards for Program that Enhance Learning will not attract prizemoney.
  • Awards for Teaching Excellence and the Award for Australian University Teacher of the Year will attract prizemoney, though amounts will be reduced. Details on prizemoney for these awards will be provided later.
  • The state-based Citations ceremonies will no longer take place. Recipients of Citations and Program Awards will receive a certificate. Ceremonies or other forms of public recognition will be at the discretion of the recipients’ institution.
  • Award recipients for Excellence in University Teacher and the Australian University Teacher of the Year Award will be announced at the Universities Australia Higher Education Conference, National Convention Centre Canberra on Wednesday 27 February to Friday 1 March 2019.

 Submission of nominations will be due on Sunday 9 Dec 2018.  There will be a new online submission process.

 In the meantime, we strongly encourage you to think about the nomination candidates and categories.

 Further information outlining the submission process will be provided in October 2018.

It is planned to celebrate and announce the award recipients at the Higher Education Conference, National Conventional Center, Canberra, 27 February – 1 March 2019.